Hat Heads

IMG_9440

Here they are, the 8 hats I knit in December that tomorrow (the 31st of December) will be mailed off to Heartstrings yarn store in Chico, CA.  There are 2 kid sized hats, 3 medium sized, 2 large and 1 XL-ish sized hat.  I enjoyed knitting every single one.

If you’d like to see individual modeled photos, go to my Ravelry projects and see the lovely DB wearing each one except the bright pink, which is too small to get on his head (or mine).

Four of the hats are made with yarn that has 20% wool in the yarn, but they are all machine washable and dry-able, which is typically a requirement for hats to give away.  I tried to pick the most wool-like acrylic I could find at Jo-Ann’s.  At least none of them have that acrylic “crunchy” feeling, which is truly awful.  Remember when that was the only yarn you could get?  It’s a wonder anyone knit anything in those days. Ugh that was truly terrible yarn.  Acrylic has come a long way.

In the process of knocking out these things, and finishing a sweater, all in December, I have injured my shoulder.  I was trying to knit Continental as much as possible, but these hats are mostly cables and ribbing which is not conducive to practicing a new way of knitting.  So I was “throwing” most of the time and my right shoulder is a mess.  I went for a massage 2 weeks ago, and again today, which is helping, but now I just need to rest. How long can I go without picking up needles?  And spinning isn’t any better – almost the same motions for a shoulder.

In a day or so (because I’m sure I won’t wait longer) I will cast on a new project. It will be this – Ninilchik Swoncho by Caitlin Hunter.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Part sweater, part poncho, I think it will be perfect for a SoCal winter. I’m going to use yarn I bought in New Zealand 11 years ago! You know the story – the yarn that is too precious to use and so it sits in your stash, taunting you to use it.  So this is the year, 2019, when I will put it to good use.  I have white as the main color, with shades of grey and brown to add to it.  If I have enough white I think I’ll dye 1 skein red just to have some color, and work it in somewhere as a pop of color interest. The yarn is Naturally Harmony 8-ply (DK weight).

More about my 2019 knitting, spinning and dyeing goals in the next blog post.  I hope everyone is having a nice holiday time!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.