On a Mission

IMG_4411

Wow, you can tell I need to try again to photograph this neon pink hat! This is hat #1 in the mission to knit all the hats and send them to Chico to distribute to people out in the cold.  I bought MORE hat yarn last Saturday during my LYS holiday party so now I have enough to make 12 hats.  I don’t know how long it will take me to make all 12, but I think I’ll send the ones I have done by the 21st of December so there are some for Christmas hand outs.

I contacted a LYS in Chico, Heart Strings, to see if they were collecting knitted items to give out to charity.  This is a really nice yarn shop that I’ve been in many times.  They are accepting small donations of knitted things, but they said if I’m planning to send in a LOT (not sure how much that is) I’d be better off delivering items directly to the Red Cross that is set up at Bidwell Presbyterian Church.  With my small donation I will send my hats to the yarn shop, with my heartfelt thanks to them for distributing.

Here is another bad photo, hat #2.

IMG_4432

and hat #3 in progress.  I was knitting a few rows during my lunch break at work.

IMG_4433

I’m trying to keep this interesting by using a variety of hat patterns.  I will probably make a second, larger, Antler Hat, as hat #4.  I’ll take a group photo before sending them off.  You can see details of all my projects here on Ravelry.

I have also finished a sweater! But I don’t have photos yet so you’ll have to wait until the weekend to see what it is.

In holiday news, one of my spinning wheels got the treatment.  DB was in charge of lights and I turned around and saw this!

IMG_4428

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.